Florida requirements for firearm carry license
If you live in Florida and you want to exercise your Second Amendment rights of carrying a firearm for your safety and protection, you should know the laws that are in place. Not knowing can lead to mistakes that could lead to criminal charges. On that premise, here’s what you need to know.
What are the requirements for a firearm carry license
To carry a concealed weapon in Florida, you must be 21 years or older. However, you can still carry a firearm if you are younger and were honorably discharged from the U.S. armed forces. Other requirements include:
- Not been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces
- You must be physically and mentally capable of safely handling a firearm
- You should not have been convicted for any form of domestic violence or any other form of violent crime
- You must have a certificate proving that you took a firearms training class
- You should be a citizen of the U.S. and a legal resident of Florida
- You shouldn’t be an abuser of any form of drug, including marijuana
- You should also meet the federal law requirements
On the issue concerning convictions, it could be quite challenging for you to get a license. If you have ever been convicted for either a misdemeanor or felony for crimes like DUI, any form of violence, or other crimes, you will have to wait a couple of years after serving your sentence in full before applying for a license.
Gun penalties in Florida
Failing to adhere to Florida’s law concerning firearms could lead to serious weapons charges. For example, carrying your gun without a license could lead to a year in prison and a fine of up to $1,000.
If you meet all the requirements, you can apply for a firearm carry license. But make sure that you consult further with professionals on how to handle your gun. Penalties for weapons violations are quite harsh.