Assault And Battery
Assault And Battery Are Different Crimes, Sometimes Charged Together
Depictions in movies and media often connect the crimes of assault and battery. These separate crimes are very different in terms of Florida law. The differences are important when it comes to presenting a strong defense for the charges you are facing. Every detail is important when it comes to criminal defense, which makes your choice of attorney all the more important.
Penalties For Assault And Battery In Florida
In Florida, the penalties for either an assault or a battery depend on the level of the offense that was charged. If someone was injured in the case, it may make the penalties worse (assuming they are convicted).
- Simple assault (second-degree misdemeanor): 60 days in jail
- Battery (first-degree misdemeanor): One year in jail
- Aggravated assault (third-degree felony): Five years in jail
- Second battery offense (third-degree felony): Five years in jail
- Felony battery (second-degree felony): 15 years in jail
- Aggravated battery (second-degree felony): 15 years in jail
What I Can Do
There are many potential defenses to an assault or a battery. It is likely that the prosecutors will only know one side of the story before they make a decision to prosecute your case. If hired early enough, I will make sure that the prosecutor hears your side of the story and makes a decision whether to prosecute after knowing all the facts, not just the facts that the “alleged victim” gave them. I may be able to convince the prosecutor not to charge you or reduce the charges, therefore opening you up to a less severe penalty. It is never too soon to start mounting your defense! Call me now to learn more about how I defend these cases before the case is formally filed.